Crazy Mormon Beliefs: Levels in Heaven

Did you know that Mormons believe that there are different “levels” in heaven?  These are the Celestial kingdom, the Terrestrial kingdom and the Telestial kingdom.

The Celestial kingdom is for those who accepted Jesus, received the necessary ordinances (e.g., baptism) and followed the commandments.  The Terrestrial kingdom is for those who lived good lives but did not accept Jesus in their lifetimes.  Finally, the Telestial kingdom is for those who did not accept Jesus nor live good lives.

Some might ask whether this belief is really Biblical or not.  In 1 Corinthians 15:40-41, Paul refers to these different glories and compares them to the sun, moon and stars, respectively.  In addition, Paul in 2 Corinthians 12:2 says, “I knew a man in Christ above fourteen years ago, (whether in the body, I cannot tell; or whether out of the body, I cannot tell: God knoweth;) such an one caught up to the third heaven.”  This verse is another Biblical verse referring to the different levels of heaven.

From a theological standpoint, this is not surprising either.  We will be judged according to our works and therefore, each one of us will be judged differently.  Even if two people both live good lives, they will be judged differently and therefore receive a slightly different level of glory.  Remember the “many mansions” that Jesus referred to?

Again, this “crazy Mormon belief” does not appear to be so crazy after all–it is supported specifically by the Bible, generally by the teachings of Jesus, and furthemore by modern-day revelation.

Tags: , , , , , ,

1 Comment to Crazy Mormon Beliefs: Levels in Heaven

  1. “In my Father’s house there are many mansions”.

    This is a direct reference to the levels of Heaven. The Mormons simply assign names to three of them and explain who goes where and why. In what way is this “crazy”? Because you never heard of it before? The names they assign are for their own convenience only. Who cares if there are really names or not? Further why would there be three? Perhaps there are more.

    Before being too harsh on the Mormons please consider that the Bible as it appears today is a very limited collection of all available scriptures from the early Christian years. To bring to live a much better of the whole of God’s message to humanity one must become a scholar. Jesus selected twelve to follow Him and become teachers. Eleven of these went out into the world in His name. Why then, do we not acknowledge them. The first emperor of the Holy Roman empire made the decision to include only four in the earliest New Testament codex. He was only a man. A man codified the first official Christian Bible. A man who lived three hundred years after Christ A man who was only a Christian because he had just won an important war and was convinced that The Christian God assisted him in this.

    In support of the idea of multi-tiered Heavens consider this. The “garden” of Adam and Eve was not on the physical Earth but in one of the lower Heavens. The “fall” is the story of their necessary decent to live as mortals. They were tempted by the serpent. The snake has always been symbolic of the Earth. This is why Cain was able to find a wife. There were early human beings on the planet already which God had prepared for this purpose. There is much more to this story. All is intertwined with life in the different spheres of God’s creation.

    The point I make is for each of us to become a scholar in religion. This is not possible by studying only those texts which make up the King James Bible. There is so much more. All from God.


  2. James Simmons on July 19th, 2009

Leave a comment